Tags

In the summer of 2019, I published a story called “A Toast to the End of Time.” it was the last story to be published in the now-defunct Ginger Collect, both my last story to be published there and the last story they published, and it was a fitting title (and story) for a swansong piece.

That story introduced a character who is somewhat hard to describe, Xarlox. An omnipotent being of pure thought without matter, who can observe the universe without being affected by it, and who narrates stories to a similar unnamed being. The stories are inspired by the strange theories and observations in the world of science and math. This new story is part of that series, so far, I have written three (I usually write one in January), and now with this story, I’ve published too. The series is similar to (though distinct from) the “Cosmicomics” by Italo Calvino.

The inspiration for this story is the various types of exotic stars and stellar adjacent objects in the universe, coming together as a sort of family reunion, transcending space of course, and time as well. There are strange stars in the family, and also neutron stars, quasi-stars, preon stars, black holes, iron stars, and so on; each with their own personalities to contribute to the family. You may not know what all those types of stars are, but if you read the story, you will find out.

Writing-wise, I wrote this story in January 2021, half-consciously before falling asleep over about 2 weeks. I was considerably more conscious while I edited the story of course. Interestingly enough, the first Xarlox story, “A Toast to the End of Time,” was also written on my phone, and I believe it was the first story I wrote the first draft, beginning to end, on the phone.

As far as publishing goes, this is the first time I’ve been published at Tree and Stone, and hopefully not the last. It is the fifth story I’ve published this year, the 62nd story I’ve published overall, and the third story for which I was paid.

Please Enjoy

Strange Stars and Stranger Stars | Tree and Stone | Issue 5