It brings me great pleasure that I give you my fifth story published this year. Written in 2014 as part of the “14 for 14” project (I’ll have to do another post on that one of these days) this is one of my first forays into the genre of “Creative Non-Fiction,” though not the first of this kind to be published. The story is true, 100%, but it is written more like a story than anything else.

The story deals with a topic that has been very much a part of my entire life, but not one I write about too often… dyslexia. That is not the only topic in the story of course, but I think I’ve written the most accurate description of what living (and growing up) with the disorder is like.

The publication included a picture at the start of the story (this is a semi-common practice for the online medium) and generally the author does not have a choice in the pictures used, which is the in this story. However the editors of Independent Noise picked the exact right picture to represent this story, and I couldn’t have done a better job myself. People who’ve already read this story in rougher forms will immediately know why, but for those of you who haven’t, enjoy the ride.

The Last First Days of School” | Independent Noise | Issue 1.2

