Greetings Constant Readers,

This year I have been hitting the submissions hard, waiting for something to bite. Now I have here the first story to get published this year. But it’s not just any story.

During college a good friend of mine and I came up with a scenario about a guy syphoning gas out of another guy’s car and getting caught. And yesterday, while taking a shower I thought that I should write the story down.

First I texted my friend to see if he approved of me writing it, since it was originally a collaborative effort. He said go for it, so I did.

I wrote the first word of the story at 9:30pm.

I knew exactly where I was going to send it when I started writing. A British Publication that has published many other stories of mine, and also published the first story. Since it was British I decided to throw in some British terminology and add a second layer of humor to the story.

By 10:00 the story was written, and by 10:30 it had been edited 3 times, and sent to a publisher.

This morning, when I woke up I checked my email and sure enough, it had been selected and posted on the site, for all the world to enjoy.

You can read the new story here “Syphon Theory” from the Short Humour Site.

My friend has also been a fairly successful writer and you can see the stuff he’s written on his blog here. Feel free to enjoy that as well.

Thank you for your years of support, and here’s too many more years to come.

Zach.

