Yesterday marked the start of my 7th NaNoWriMo Novel. NaNoWriMo or National Novel Writers Month is a challenge in which authors attempt to write a 50,000+ word novel (that’s about a hundred single spaced pages roughly) in the month of November. They keep track of their daily word count on the site, and some can make friends (though I’ve never done quite that much). You get some goodies if you succeed, winner’s certificates and so on that you can download and print out at the end if you’ve completed your 50,000 words.

This year was the first time that I was able to do “The Midnight Push” which is starting the novel at the stroke of midnight November 1st. I’ve never been able to do this before because I almost always have to work early and a lot on the first day of November. This year the stars aligned and since November began on a Sunday I could sleep in late. I got an hour and a half down before I turned in.

Yesterday I managed to write 4,667 words, which is actually not a record. The most prolific first day entry was in 2011 with a total of 4,858 words written. The rest of the records are 3,241 words written on the first day in 2014. 1,891 words on the first day of 2013, 3,798 words for the 2012 novel, and 2,904 words for the novel in 2010. I don’t have records of how many words I wrote on the first day for the first novel back in 2009.

You can expect to see not too many posts throughout the month because I will be dedicating a lot of time to the new novel, but there will be a few, I’ve actually been reading pretty heavily over the last few weeks. I’ve already read two books so I’ll be posting stuff about them soon I’m sure.

The novel this year is actually not a novel at all, it’s a collection of pieces that should have already been written. The first piece is a long non-fiction narrative about this past rather chaotic year, followed by a couple of new chapters to be added to my novel written in 2013, and then a handful of stories to follow. I hope you check out the NaNoWriMo site and perhaps give it a shot this year or the next.

