It was a very cold and very wet November day at work, and a day that I had to work outside of course. I knew the first thing that I would do when I got home would be to get all my clothes off in the laundry room, then immediately take a shower, then eat something spicy. What I didn’t know was whether or not I was up to going to Classic Game Junkies before getting home. A friend of mine from work and I had planned on going to the store after work that afternoon, but what I didn’t plan on was working outside in the cold rain non-stop for 7 hours. In the end we did go.

I picked up 3 games, all for the Genesis: Mortal Kombat (in the box), Mortal Kombat II, and Caesar’s Palace. Here’s a game for you at home to play, which one is different than the others? I was also close to picking up Jurassic Park (also in the box) but that game has been in there since the first day I went in, so I’ll probably pick it up next time.

My friend also picked up 3 games, all for the N64 (a system I do plan on getting at some point, but not in the immediate future). All three of his came from “the case” one of a few glass boxes in the store where the more valuable or desirable (i.e. games that may not be all too expensive, but are commonly stolen) games are kept. I haven’t gotten anything from the case yet. His trio was Diddy Kong Racing, Mario Kart, and Super Smash Bros.

Mortal Kombat – Yes I know the game, everyone knows the game, probably the most famous game from when I was a kid. Of course I did not have it when I was a kid, mom would not let me get overly violent video games, and this one was infamous. It basically started the ESRB rating system, digitized human actors fighting to the death. I remember a friend of mine from way back had a copy and we played it at his house quite often. I forgot that there is a code you have to put in to turn the blood on, and (I assume) the fatalities only work when the blood is turned on. When I picked up the copy, the owner told me that they had just gotten that copy in yesterday. During the test play I was able to beat the game with Raden (my favorite) on Very Easy, the second time around.

Mortal Kombat II – Mortal Kombat plus more: more characters, more stages, more fatalities, humorous non-lethal finishers, “toasty”, and best and most important, more blood. You don’t even need to use a code to turn the blood on, how could the game go worng? Answer: turning up the difficulty to virtually unplayable levels. This seems to be symptom of fighting games. Shaq-Fu could have been a cute and warmly liked (maybe not smash it) if the difficulty wasn’t so relentless, same goes for Eternal Champions, however there is the possibility that a six button controller could make that game much easier. There is an option in MKII for a six button controller, so I won’t pass ultimate judgment until I find that device. Still though, why do they have to make these fighting games so hard? I’ll admit I know very little about programming, but I think it would be a much easier process to tone the difficulty down on a fighting game as opposed to say a sidescroller. I had the game set at very easy and gave myself 30 credits (continues) I think, or 38, whichever the max is, and I made it up to level 5, and gave up when I had only 10 credits left. Granted I’m not the best gamer in the world, but why make the very easy difficulty that hard? If it wasn’t for the two player options and the controversies surrounding the game itself I can’t see how it would have survived. They put a lot of work into the game, there is a lot of stuff there, I just wish I could explore it better. Maybe after 8 or 10 hours of playing I can get a handle of the game, but it is certainly not a pick up and play.

Caesar’s Palace – I had seen this game at the store the last time, but for the SNES. The price was good so I picked it up, and I test played it more than the other two. The controls took a little time to get a hang of and I lost about 300$ at black jack because I couldn’t figure out how to stand. Just like in San Andreas you can play: Black Jack, Rullette, Slots, and Video Poker; but in Caesar’s Palace you can also play: Keno, Craps, bet on race, and even scratch off lottery tickets. I like that they included Craps, I don’t have a clue about how to play it, but it might be worth learning, I know a few people who like the game. I love playing gambling video games (with fake money) but I can’t stand the real thing, too many people and the “rules” are ill informed. I found it interesting that there was a warning on the first screen not to use this game for any real kind of gambling. Aside from the controls the other downside is the goofy password system, but I think I’ll only need that when I win more than my initial 2,000$, I don’t expect that to happen for a while.

On a side note, I’m going to try to make this a week of posts, one new one each day. the last time I tried this it didn’t work out so well.

